NEWS:Gas Wasser Indiepop: Jochen Gäde meets Die Bullen! TheIndie-/Wave-/Punk-Highlight of the summer!
Subjects Info
RD: 2023-03-31
Label: Off Ya Tree Records
Fileunder: Punkrock / Deutschpunk / Rock
The legendary punk band Abwärts from Hamburg is back with the new album "Superfucker". Known for their changeable style as well as critical lyrics in 44 years of band history, the current release is an essence of this diversity and is additionally accompanied by incisive rock and punk elements.

The musically experimental band project first appeared in Hamburg in 1979 as part of the festival series Geräusche für die 80er. Downward´s first release ever was "Computerstaat", which was followed by numerous singles, EPs and albums such as the debut album "Amok Koma", which is considered one of the most important German independent productions and with which the band played a tour supporting The Cure. The formation has also collaborated with Nick Launay (Nick Cave), Jon Caffery (Die Toten Hosen) and former Metallica producer Flemming Rasmussen, among others. The cynical-sarcastic lyrics written by Frank Ziegert continuously lead as a red thread through the whole band years. MusicallyAbwärts have a journey of genre diversity behind them: from trash, punk to Neue Deutsche Welle, electro to metal and rock. Currently, the formation consists of Frank Ziegert, Rodrigo González (Die Ärzte), Martin´dog´Kessler (Nina Hagen, H-Blocks, West Bam) and Björn Werra (Wyclef Jean, Yvonne Catterfeld).After 2018 with "Smart Bomb" the last album was released, there is now with "Superfucker" again a new long player, for which a tour is also planned in the spring. Mainly the ten album songs were recorded in the studio of Rodrigo González. The title track is partly based on Stephen Emmott´s 2013 work "Ten Billion" and his statement: "It could be that there are possibly a few too many people in this world. There will be a music video for the first single release, "Alone Among Bottles," which begins with the sound of castanets, has a flamengo-like groove in between and ignites into a punk rock number. With "I Can´t Escape Myself", a guitar board with snotty vocals, an English-language song also finds its way into the album again.
Track list
2AbwärtsAllein Unter Flaschen
3AbwärtsBerlin Hopsasa
4AbwärtsWas Die Welt Jetzt Braucht
5AbwärtsPropaganda Ist
6AbwärtsTief In Deutscher Seele
7AbwärtsSeid Vedammt
8AbwärtsDer Beschiss Lauert Überall
9AbwärtsGottes Falsche
10AbwärtsI Can´t Escape Myself

Mosaik Music Promotion

Oberhafen-Kontor / Stadtdeich 27
20097 Hamburg
Contact Imprint GTC
Powered by Myway SQL Manager
newsletter melde Dich an